NC DWI Treatment Resources
In North Carolina, anyone convicted of a DWI or related drunk driving offense is required to obtain a substance abuse assessment and complete the recommended education or treatment, prior to having his or her license restored. (See § G.S. 20-17.6). In order to qualify under North Carolina law, the substance abuse assessment must be performed in person by a qualified substance abuse professional. The process is overseen by the NC Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services.
What To Bring to Your Assessment:
- Your court papers from your DWI case, including your citation
- A copy of your complete driving record from DMV (NC and any other states in which you have lived. Obtain NC records here.)
- Documentation of your BAC at the time of the alleged offense
How Much it Will Cost:
- The DWI assessment itself costs $100.
- Recommended education and treatment will carry additional costs, which vary from provider to provider, but treatment generally averages around $18/hour.
- If you qualify for Alcohol and Drug Education Traffic School (ADETS) instead of treatment, that program costs $160.
- The next step up from ADETS is generally short-term outpatient treatment, which averages a total cost of $354.
- Costs can be significantly higher if your recommended treatment is more intensive.
Where To Go for Assessment and Treatment/Education:
- The NC Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services provides a list of service providers here, where you can look for provider locations by county.
- Direct links for: Wake County, Durham County, Orange County, and Chatham County.
For more information, please feel free to call us at (919) 727-9227 for a free consultation regarding your case.