| Read Time: < 1 minute | blog

In most cases, if you’re arrested for a DWI in North Carolina, the arresting officer will keep your license and inform you that it is being revoked for 30 days.  This is known as a civil revocation of your license, and takes place at the time you are initially charged with a DWI by a magistrate, prior to your release.

If your case is in Wake County, your license is held at the Wake County Courthouse in Room 102 during that 30-day revocation period.  At the end of the 30-day period, you can pick up your license there.  You’ll be required to pay a $100 fee to the court.  You’ll need either cash, or a certified check or money order.

If you need to get back on the road before the 30-day period is up, you may be eligible to receive a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) after 10 days.  Learn more in our DWI Resource Section.


Raleigh DWI lawyer Ben Hiltzheimer is a criminal defense attorney in Raleigh, North Carolina, who represents individuals charged with DWIs and the full spectrum of misdemeanors and felonies. Contact us for a free, confidential consultation and case evaluation at (919) 727-9227.

Author Photo


Ben is an experienced trial lawyer who earned his law degree from The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. He was trained in trial practice at the nation’s preeminent Public Defender agency, the federally funded Public Defender Service for the District of Columbia, described by United States Attorney General Eric Holder as “the best public defender office in the country.”

Rate this Post

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars